Picture by Pexels

Knocked off your Rails

Marc Kermisch
3 min readNov 1, 2020

--

For the past several years, I have battled with the effects of playing hard (plus some lousy genetics and maybe poor posture). Long story short, I had a pinched nerve in my neck that inhibited my ability to do the activities I love. After years of physical therapy, cortisone shots, and altering my physical activities, I bit the bullet and underwent surgery to correct the issue. I had chosen the least invasive surgery, but it still required a posterior procedure, which has a longer recovery.

I thought I had prepared for my reduced abilities during recovery, from making meals to setting expectations at work. Even with all that planning, I learned that proverbial lesson: great plans’ can immediately fail when put into action. My ability to concentrate, be productive, and even comprehend information flowing at me was degraded. I could only focus for short bursts and had to take frequent breaks. Time moved both slow and fast. I had to lean harder on family, friends, and co-workers, and for someone who hates asking for help, this was the biggest challenge.

I had to continually readjust my priorities based on what my body and mind could handle.

I had to let a few things go during the last 6+ weeks. I stopped writing and posting on social media. My newsletter took a hiatus, and I pretty much had to unplug from productive thinking. Instead, I focused on…

--

--

Marc Kermisch

Technologist | Board Member | Advisor — with 25 years of experience across Retail, Manufacturing, Utilities, Financial Services and Start-ups.